my name

my name is “cutie”

because I’m opinionated and it’s just SO strange to find a girl who’s

“pretty AND smart,”

he says.

because my intelligence is somehow linked to the features I was born with.

the books I’ve read, somehow linked to the straightness of my teeth.

the words I’ve written, somehow linked to the colour of my eyes.

my name is “baby”

because I walked passed wearing skinny jeans and a t-shirt

and it was just so provocative

that their tongues could not resist the urge

to lash out and breathe fire

at the 14 year old girl who looked down at her feet.

my name is “you asked for this”

because I wore a dress and

he just could not control his scalding hands

from melting my skin

and all I wanted to do was dance.

my name is “independent”

said scathingly from a grandmother’s lips

because I am too liberated and

that’s why I will never find a husband.

Because a diamond ring on my finger is equivalent to my value.

The length of my skirt, an indicator of my consent.

The visibility of my figure, a welcoming sign.

my name is “cutie”

because I have no name in this society.

Leave a comment